Aupair Bureau

Internet's Number One Meeting Place for Aupairs, Nannies and Families

Home | UK Nanny Qualifications
Home | UK Nanny Qualifications

UK Nanny Qualifications

E-mail Print
User Rating: / 0

CACHE Diploma also known as DCE (Diploma in Childcare and Education), DNN (Diploma in Nursery Nursing) or an NNEB. a BTEC National Diploma in Childhood Studies or NVQ level 3.

DCE CACHE DIPLOMA (Council for Awards in Childcare and Education). The CACHE diploma also known as NNEB or the DNN and is a widely recognised childcare qualification.The course takes two years to complete and covers health, safety, nutrition and educational play for ages up to seven. Students work with children of different ages on placements in homes, day nurseries, hospitals and junior schools.

UK Tel +44(0)1727 847636 Website


These year long, full time courses are not as comprehensive as a CACHE diploma but are considered a good basis for further training.

BTEC (Business and Technology Education Council).

The BTEC courses cover the same material as the DCE but are considered more academic. There are several different levels. Check which BTEC your prospective nanny has studied.

The BTEC Higher National Diploma is a full time course that is the equivalent to the first year of a degree.

The BTEC National Certificate (also known as the BTEC National Diploma) is a part time course which is equivalent to two A-levels. The BTEC First Certificate is a day release course equivalent to 4 GCSEs, grades A-C.

UK Tel +44(0)870 240 9800 Website

NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) NVQs are assessed within the workplace where students have to prove that they have achieved a certain level of competence and capability.

Students have to complete 15 modules and courses can take up to two years to complete:
The NVQ level 2 is a qualification obtained by a childcare worker in a supervised role, e.g. a nursery assistant.

The NVQ level 3 can be obtained by professional childcare workers and could be considered the equivalent of a DCE . A childcarer undertaking this training shows a commitment to learning about high quality childcare. An experienced childminder or mother's help could apply to be assessed at this level.

The NVQ level 4 is undertaken by a childcare worker who would already be trained to management level - and tends to be more academically challenging.

Add New Search
Write comment
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.

!joomlacomment 4.0 Copyright (C) 2009 . All rights reserved."

Last Updated on Monday, 01 February 2010 17:15  

CSS Validity XHTML Validity